Alabama utility late fees
22 of 52 Alabama utilities in this database have a published residential late fee. The median is 5%. The highest is 10%.
Alabama utilities reported 454,815 residential electric disconnections for non-payment in 2024, or 18.96 per 100 customers.
| Utility | Late fee | 2024 disconnections | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coosa Valley Electric Coop Inc | 10% | 2,472 | Cooperative |
| Mobile (water/sewer) | 10% | not reported | Municipal |
| City of Huntsville - (AL) | 5% | 107,061 | Municipal |
| Central Alabama Electric Coop | 5% | not reported | Cooperative |
| City of Florence - (AL) | 5% | 6,383 | Municipal |
| Cullman Electric Coop, Inc | 5% | not reported | Cooperative |
| Joe Wheeler Elec Member Corp | 5% | 2,624 | Cooperative |
| Diverse Power Incorporated | 5%, min $5 | 6,752 | Cooperative |
| Sand Mountain Electric Coop | 5% | 346 | Cooperative |
| Wiregrass Electric Coop, Inc | 5%, min $5 | 1,194 | Cooperative |
| Southern Pine Elec Coop, Inc | 5%, min $3 | 1,109 | Cooperative |
| Cherokee Electric Coop - (AL) | 5% | not reported | Cooperative |
| City of Troy - (AL) | 5%, min $5 | 2,155 | Municipal |
| Franklin Electric Coop - (AL) | 5% | not reported | Cooperative |
| City of Hartselle | 5% | not reported | Municipal |
| City of Russellville - (AL) | 5% | not reported | Municipal |
| City of Andalusia | 5% | not reported | Municipal |
| Alabama Power Co | 1.5%, min $2 | 208,579 | Investor Owned |
| Huntsville (water/sewer) | 1% | not reported | Municipal |
| Birmingham (water/sewer) | 1% | not reported | Political Subdivision |
| Singing River Elec Cooperative | $8.5 flat | 25,205 | Cooperative |
| Dixie Electric Coop - (AL) | $10 flat | 2,541 | Cooperative |
| Baldwin County El Member Corp | not published | 5,488 | Cooperative |
| City of Athens - (AL) | not published | 6,423 | Municipal |
| Foley Board of Utilities | not published | 5,284 | Municipal |
| Tallapoosa River Elec Coop Inc | not published | 4,471 | Cooperative |
| City of Dothan - (AL) | not published | 8,497 | Municipal |
| Covington Electric Coop, Inc | not published | 1,076 | Cooperative |
| Decatur Utilities | not published | 3,392 | Municipal |
| Black Warrior Elec Member Corp | not published | 721 | Cooperative |
| Clarke-Washington E M C | not published | 1,344 | Cooperative |
| Marshall-De Kalb Electric Coop | not published | not reported | Cooperative |
| South Alabama Elec Coop, Inc | not published | 2,430 | Cooperative |
| Sheffield Utilities | not published | 3,133 | Municipal |
| Pea River Electric Coop | not published | 3,284 | Cooperative |
| Arab Electric Coop Inc | not published | not reported | Cooperative |
| City of Opelika - (AL) | not published | 3,272 | Municipal |
| North Alabama Electric Coop | not published | not reported | Cooperative |
| City of Bessemer Utilities | not published | not reported | Municipal |
| Albertville Municipal Utilities Board | not published | not reported | Municipal |
| City of Muscle Shoals | not published | not reported | Municipal |
| City of Scottsboro - (AL) | not published | not reported | Municipal |
| Cullman Power Board | not published | not reported | Municipal |
| Fort Payne Improvement Authority | not published | not reported | Municipal |
| Guntersville Electric Board | not published | not reported | Municipal |
| City of Tuscumbia | not published | 622 | Municipal |
| City of Tarrant | not published | not reported | Municipal |
| City of Courtland | not published | not reported | Municipal |
| Tennessee Valley Authority | not published | not reported | Federal |
| City of Piedmont | not published | 483 | Unknown |
| City of Robertsdale | not published | 576 | Unknown |
| Sylacauga Utilities Board | not published | 3,907 | Unknown |