Iowa utility late fees
14 of 51 Iowa utilities in this database have a published residential late fee. The median is 1.5%. The highest is 5%.
Iowa utilities reported 46,315 residential electric disconnections for non-payment in 2024, or 3.19 per 100 customers.
| Utility | Late fee | 2024 disconnections | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Butler County Rural Elec Coop - (IA) | 5% | 30 | Cooperative |
| Davenport (water/sewer) | 5% | not reported | Municipal |
| City of Cedar Rapids | 4.5% | not reported | Municipal |
| Federated Rural Electric Assn | 3% | 32 | Cooperative |
| MidAmerican Energy Co | 1.5% | 17,145 | Investor Owned |
| Interstate Power and Light Co | 1.5% | 20,276 | Investor Owned |
| Linn County REC | 1.5% | 368 | Cooperative |
| City of Ames - (IA) | 1.5% | 899 | Municipal |
| Eastern Iowa Light & Power Coop | 1.5% | 200 | Cooperative |
| Cedar Falls Utilities | 1.5% | 284 | Municipal |
| North West Rural Electric Coop | 1.5% | 2 | Cooperative |
| Access Energy Coop | 1.5% | 128 | Cooperative |
| East-Central Iowa Rural Elec Coop | 1.5% | 21 | Cooperative |
| Prairie Energy Coop | 1.5% | 22 | Cooperative |
| MiEnergy Cooperative | not published | 67 | Cooperative |
| Freeborn Mower Electric Cooperative | not published | 796 | Cooperative |
| Midland Power Coop | not published | 21 | Cooperative |
| Maquoketa Valley Rrl Elec Coop | not published | 78 | Cooperative |
| Board of Water Electric & Communications | not published | 294 | Municipal |
| Iowa Lakes Electric Coop | not published | 46 | Cooperative |
| Consumers Energy Coop - (IA) | not published | not reported | Cooperative |
| Heartland Power Coop | not published | 24 | Cooperative |
| City of Maquoketa - (IA) | not published | 182 | Municipal |
| City of Independence - (IA) | not published | 31 | Municipal |
| Amana Society Service Co | not published | 1 | Investor Owned |
| City of Preston | not published | 1 | Municipal |
| City of Alton | not published | 6 | Unknown |
| City of Bloomfield | not published | 37 | Unknown |
| City of Brooklyn | not published | 30 | Unknown |
| Cascade Mun Util - IA | not published | 3 | Unknown |
| Calhoun County Elec Coop Assn | not published | 1 | Unknown |
| City of Fairbank | not published | 8 | Unknown |
| Harlan Municipal Utilities | not published | 22 | Unknown |
| City of Hartley | not published | 60 | Unknown |
| City of Hawarden | not published | 6 | Unknown |
| City of Lake Park | not published | 0 | Unknown |
| City of Lamoni | not published | 2 | Unknown |
| Lyon Rural Electric Coop | not published | 2 | Unknown |
| Town of Manilla | not published | 12 | Unknown |
| City of Manning | not published | 9 | Unknown |
| City of Mapleton | not published | 5 | Unknown |
| Consumers Energy | not published | 93 | Unknown |
| City of Orange City | not published | 57 | Unknown |
| City of Osage | not published | 31 | Unknown |
| City of Remsen | not published | 8 | Unknown |
| Rock Rapids Municipal Utility | not published | 15 | Unknown |
| City of Sabula | not published | 9 | Unknown |
| City of Sanborn | not published | 5 | Unknown |
| City of Traer | not published | 6 | Unknown |
| City of Wall Lake | not published | 4 | Unknown |
| City of West Bend | not published | 0 | Unknown |