New York utility late fees
13 of 19 New York utilities in this database have a published residential late fee. The median is 1.5%. The highest is 15%.
New York utilities reported 173,612 residential electric disconnections for non-payment in 2024, or 2.45 per 100 customers.
| Utility | Late fee | 2024 disconnections | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yonkers (water/sewer) | 15% | not reported | Municipal |
| Buffalo (water/sewer) | 10% | not reported | Municipal |
| New York (water/sewer) | 6% | not reported | Municipal |
| Consolidated Edison Co-NY Inc | 1.5% | 12,690 | Investor Owned |
| FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Co | 1.5% | 91,340 | Investor Owned |
| Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 1.5% | 48,918 | Investor Owned |
| Long Island Power Authority | 1.5% | 25,295 | State |
| New York State Elec & Gas Corp | 1.5% | 28,114 | Investor Owned |
| Rochester Gas & Electric Corp | 1.5% | 4,012 | Investor Owned |
| Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp | 1.5% | 733 | Investor Owned |
| Orange & Rockland Utils Inc | 1.5% | 38,919 | Investor Owned |
| Jamestown Board of Public Util | 1.5% | 2,433 | Municipal |
| City of Plattsburgh - (NY) | 1.5% | 174 | Municipal |
| Village of Fairport - (NY) | not published | 125 | Municipal |
| Village of Freeport - (NY) | not published | 269 | Municipal |
| Town of Massena - (NY) | not published | 297 | Municipal |
| Village of Solvay - (NY) | not published | 0 | Municipal |
| Fishers Island Utility Co Inc | not published | 0 | Investor Owned |
| New York Power Authority | not published | not reported | State |