South Dakota utility late fees
11 of 23 South Dakota utilities in this database have a published residential late fee. The median is 1.5%. The highest is 5%.
South Dakota utilities reported 25,890 residential electric disconnections for non-payment in 2024, or 6.03 per 100 customers.
| Utility | Late fee | 2024 disconnections | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Watertown Municipal Utilities | 5% | 1,178 | Municipal |
| City of Pierre - (SD) | 5% | 538 | Municipal |
| MidAmerican Energy Co | 1.5% | 17,145 | Investor Owned |
| Black Hills Power, Inc. | 1.5% | 1,000 | Investor Owned |
| Sioux Valley SW Elec Coop | 1.5%, min $5 | 3,995 | Cooperative |
| Southeastern Electric Coop Inc - (SD) | 1.5%, min $5 | 1,879 | Cooperative |
| Montana-Dakota Utilities Co | 1% | 2,803 | Investor Owned |
| NorthWestern Energy - (SD) | 1%, min $2 | 1,511 | Investor Owned |
| Sioux Falls (water/sewer) | 1%, min $1 | not reported | Municipal |
| Northern States Power Co - Minnesota | 0.45%, min $1 | 56,757 | Investor Owned |
| West River Electric Assn Inc | no late fee | 3,387 | Cooperative |
| Otter Tail Power Co | not published | 2,998 | Investor Owned |
| Nebraska Public Power District | not published | 9,726 | Political Subdivision |
| City of Brookings - (SD) | not published | 270 | Municipal |
| Black Hills Electric Coop, Inc | not published | 179 | Cooperative |
| Central Electric Coop, Inc - (SD) | not published | 649 | Cooperative |
| Northern Electric Coop, Inc | not published | 26 | Cooperative |
| Rosebud Electric Coop Inc | not published | 25 | Cooperative |
| Dakota Energy Coop Inc | not published | not reported | Cooperative |
| City of Madison - (SD) | not published | 247 | Municipal |
| City of Volga - (SD) | not published | 46 | Municipal |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration | not published | not reported | Federal |
| Oahe Electric Cooperative, Inc. | not published | 36 | Unknown |