Utility Late Feesexplore map distribution disconnections methodology api faq news blog

Map · Database

North Carolina utility late fees

43 of 63 North Carolina utilities in this database have a published residential late fee. The median is 1.5%. The highest is 10%.

North Carolina utilities reported 401,957 residential electric disconnections for non-payment in 2024, or 7.91 per 100 customers.

UtilityLate fee2024 disconnectionsType
City of Morganton - (NC)10%1,654Municipal
Winston-Salem (water/sewer)10%not reportedMunicipal
Blue Ridge Mountain EMC - (GA)5%not reportedCooperative
Mountain Electric Coop, Inc5%not reportedCooperative
Tri-County Elec Member Corp (NC)5%1,759Cooperative
City of New Bern - (NC)5%2,721Municipal
Tri-State Electric Member Corp5%355Cooperative
City of Statesville - (NC)5%, min $55,391Municipal
Wilmington (water/sewer)5%not reportedPolitical Subdivision
Brunswick Electric Member Corp2%6,709Cooperative
Virginia Electric & Power Co1.5%371,429Investor Owned
Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC1.5%117,335Investor Owned
EnergyUnited Elec Member Corp1.5%, $15 flat18,476Cooperative
Union Electric Membership Corp - (NC)1.5%, min $53,516Cooperative
Fayetteville Public Works Commission1.5%31,585Municipal
Rutherford Elec Member Corp1.5%, min $65,017Cooperative
York Electric Coop Inc1.5%1,804Cooperative
Lumbee River Elec Member Corp1.5%47,637Cooperative
Wake Electric Membership Corp1.5%, min $52,981Cooperative
French Broad Elec Member Corp1.5%, min $5480Cooperative
Randolph Electric Member Corp1.5%, min $3.51,579Cooperative
Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative1.5%not reportedCooperative
City of Concord - (NC)1.5%5,098Municipal
Surry-Yadkin Elec Member Corp1.5%614Cooperative
City of Gastonia - (NC)1.5%, min $59,598Municipal
City of Rocky Mount - (NC)1.5%6,260Municipal
Central Electric Membership Corp. - (NC)1.5%, min $534Cooperative
Tideland Electric Member Corp1.5%, min $1.5not reportedCooperative
Pee Dee Electric Member Corp1.5%, min $105,536Cooperative
Charlotte (water/sewer)1.5%not reportedMunicipal
Concord (water/sewer)1.5%not reportedMunicipal
Duke Energy Progress - (NC)1%69,969Investor Owned
Blue Ridge Elec Member Corp - (NC)1%, min $51,198Cooperative
Greenville Utilities Comm1%16,066Municipal
City of Wilson - (NC)1%10,078Municipal
Town of Apex- (NC)1%397Municipal
Durham (water/sewer)1%not reportedMunicipal
Cary (water/sewer)1%, min $5not reportedMunicipal
South River Elec Member Corp$12 flat3,693Cooperative
Carteret-Craven El Member Corp$5 flat1,096Cooperative
Town of High Point$5 flat10,903Municipal
Roanoke Electric Member Corp$6 flat24,750Cooperative
Raleigh (water/sewer)$5 flatnot reportedMunicipal
Jones-Onslow Elec Member Corpnot published8,288Cooperative
Four County Elec Member Corpnot publishednot reportedCooperative
Piedmont Electric Member Corpnot published5,686Cooperative
Haywood Electric Member Corpnot published772Cooperative
Broad River Electric Coop, Incnot publishednot reportedCooperative
City of Lexington - (NC)not published3,216Municipal
Albemarle Electric Member Corpnot published210Cooperative
City of Washington - (NC)not published1,951Municipal
City of Elizabeth City - (NC)not published2,906Municipal
City of Albemarle - (NC)not published2,929Municipal
Edgecombe-Martin County E M Cnot published748Cooperative
City of Monroe - (NC)not published2,959Municipal
City of Kinston - (NC)not published2,806Municipal
City of Lumberton - (NC)not published1,181Municipal
Town of Huntersville - (NC)not published658Municipal
New River Light & Power Conot published449State
Town of Tarboro - (NC)not published134Municipal
Town of Murphy - (NC)not publishednot reportedMunicipal
Tennessee Valley Authoritynot publishednot reportedFederal
City of Kings Mountainnot published985Unknown